Academic Planning Council

IRAP supports the Academic Planning Council (APC), a joint Academic Senate and UC Administration committee that addresses planning issues and considers policies related to the University’s academic mission.

APC efforts include work on:

  • Planning principles for the Long Range Enrollment Plan
  • Approaches to estimate the cost of instruction
  • Performance indicators reported to the State
  • Update and revision of system-level program review processes outlined in the Compendium
  • UC policies related to the academic mission including Self-Supporting Graduate Professional Degree Programs, Open Access (publication of scholarly works), and International Activities

APC Roster, 2017-18


  • APC Chair: Michael T. Brown, Provost and Executive Vice President
  • APC Vice Chair: Shane White, Chair, Academic Council

Academic Senate

  • Robert May, Vice Chair, Academic Council
  • Karen Duderstadt, CCGA, UC San Francisco
  • Edward Caswell-Chen, UCEP, UC Davis
  • Joshua Schimel, UCPB, UC Santa Barbara
  • Jeffrey Richman, UCORP, UC Santa Barbara
  • Michelle Yeh, UCAP, UC Davis
  • Division Chair – Farrell Ackerman, UC San Diego
  • Division Chair – Susan Amussen, UC Merced


  • David Marshall, Executive Vice Chancellor, UC Santa Barbara
  • Marlene Tromp, Executive Vice Chancellor, UC Santa Cruz
  • Rosemarie Rae, Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer, UC Berkeley
  • Scott Brandt, Vice Chancellor for Research, UC Santa Cruz
  • Thomas M. Smith, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, UC Riverside
  • Susan Carlson, Vice Provost - Academic Personnel, UCOP
  • David Alcocer, Associate Vice President - Budget Analysis & Planning, UCOP
  • Frances Leslie, Dean of the Graduate Division, UC Irvine
  • Elizabeth Whitt, Vice Provost and Dean for Undergraduate Education, UC Merced


  • Aaron Aruck, Graduate Student, UC Santa Cruz
  • Alexis Dye, Undergraduate Student, UC Berkeley


  • Pamela Brown, Vice President, Institutional Research and Academic Planning
  • Hilary Baxter, Executive Director, Academic Senate
  • Todd Greenspan, Director - Academic Planning
  • Rebecca Landes, Planning Analyst - Academic Planning