Policy Governance

University of California Policy Steering Committee

This Committee is appointed by the President to approve a framework for systemwide administrative policies and to oversee the policymaking process to ensure that policies comport with Regents policy, regulatory mandates, and the University's mission.

  • Jagdeep Singh Bachher, Vice President, Chief Investment Officer
  • Nathan Brostrom, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer 
  • Alexander Bustamante, Senior Vice President, Chief Compliance & Audit Officer
  • Carrie L. Byington, MD, Executive Vice President, UC Health
  • Tricia Lyall, Secretary and Chief of Staff to the Regents
  • Rachael Nava, Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer
  • Katherine Newman, Provost and Executive Vice President, Academic Affairs
  • Charles Robinson, Senior Vice President, General Counsel

University of California Policy Advisory Committee

This Committee comprises designees of the Policy Steering Committee. It is charged with recommending a framework for systemwide administrative policy development and maintenance, providing oversight and direction to executive policy owners, and assuring that policies are accessible, presented within a logical framework and appropriately disseminated. If you are looking to submit a policy for review, see the current Policy Advisory Committee Schedule

  • Kelly Anders, Director, Academic Personnel and Program
  • Agnes BallaDirector, Research Policy Analysis and Coordination
  • Tuanh DoExecutive Director and Deputy to the Vice President/Vice Provost, Graduate, Undergraduate and Equity Affairs
  • Kelly Drumm, Deputy General Counsel, Legal Policy and Operations, UC Legal
  • Ian Harazduk, Systemwide Policy Manager, Ethics, Compliance and Audit Services
  • Dianna Henderson, Chief of Staff to the VP Systemwide Human Resources & Executive Director-HR Policy
  • Alexander Hill, Project Policy Analyst, UC Health
  • Paula Johnson, UCSD Policy and Records Administration Director, Campus Policy Managers Representative
  • Heather Kopeck, Director Development Policy & Advancement Relations, External Relations & Communications–Institutional Advancement
  • Michael LaBriola, Assistant Director, Academic Senate
  • Gary Leonard, Executive Director, General Liability & Property Programs, Risk Services
  • Irene Levintov, Chief of Staff to the Senior Vice President/Chief Compliance & Audit Officer
  • Monica Lin, Executive Director, Academic Senate
  • Marisa McAuliffe, Director of Issues Management and Strategy, President's Executive Office
  • Deena McRae, Associate Vice President, Academic Health Sciences
  • Deborah Motton, Executive Director, Research Policy Analysis and Coordination
  • Abby Norris, Policy Specialist, Systemwide Human Resources Policy
  • Kimberly Peterson, Chief Policy Advisor, Graduate, Undergraduate and Equity Affairs
  • Robin SanchezDirector, Policy, Compliance & Programmatic Agreements, ANR
  • Brandi Schmitt, Director of Anatomical Services, UC Health
  • Maria Shanle, Managing Counsel, Education Affairs and Governance, Office of General Counsel
  • Clare Sheridan, Regents Analyst, Office of the Secretary of the Regents
  • Robert Smith, Policy Director, Systemwide Information Technology
  • Meredith Turner, Chief of Staff, External Relations and Communications
  • Megan Villasenor, Chief of Staff, UC Controller, Financial Accounting
  • Rebecca Woolston, Associate Director, Academic Policy and Policy Exceptions
  • Olga Zundel, Policy Specialist, Systemwide Human Resources Policy