UC's NAGPRA Implementation and Oversight Committees

Jump to:


CalNAGPRA (Health & Safety Code §§ 8016(a) & (b)) requires that UC establish a Systemwide NAGPRA Implementation and Oversight Committee ("Systemwide Committee"), as well as a Campus NAGPRA Implementation Committee ("Campus Committee") at each campus which holds potentially NAGPRA-eligible Human Remains or Cultural Items.

Members of these Committees ensure legal and ethical compliance and cultural respect in UC’s repatriation practices. For a full list of responsibilities, please see Sections V.A.1.b and V.A.2.c of the UC Native American Cultural Affiliation and Repatriation Policy (PDF).

Committee Member Qualifications and NAHC Nomination Process

The Committees are composed of both UC and Native American representatives. All members must be reviewed and nominated by the Native American Heritage Commission (NAHC) before appointment by the UC. The NAHC is continually accepting nominations for all positions. More information and application packets can be found on the NAHC's UC NAGPRA Implementation and Oversight Committee's web page.

Tribal Nominees

Tribal Nominees must be a member of a federally or non-federally recognized California Indian tribe as defined by Section 8012 of the Health and Safety Code, and have at least five years of experience in any of the following:

  • Repatriation of human remains and cultural items pursuant to the federal Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act;
  • Cultural resources protection under tribal, state, and federal law; or
  • Consultation with state and federal entities and agencies.

Note: One member of each Committee must be from a tribe not which is not recognized by the federal government, but which is located in California and on the contact list maintained by the NAHC for the purposes of consultation pursuant to Section 65352.3 of the Government Code.

UC Nominees

UC Nominees must be affiliated with or employed by the University of California and have the following:

  1. A graduate degree in any of the following: Archaeology, Anthropology, Native American Studies, Ethnic Studies, Law, Sociology, Environmental Studies, or History, with a focus in California; and
  2. A minimum of five years’ experience working in his or her field of study.

Note: At least two UC members of the Systemwide Committee and one UC member of each Campus Committee must be affiliated with an American Indian or Native American Studies program.

Preference will be given to members "who have demonstrated, through their professional experience, the ability to work in collaboration with Native American tribes successfully on issues related to repatriation or museum collection management" (Health & Safety Code §8026(c)(2)).

Current Committee Member Rosters

Systemwide Committee

  • Isaac Bojorquez - KaKoon Ta Ruk Band of Ohlone-Costanoan Indians of the Big Sur Rancheria (Non-Federally Recognized)
  • Robin DeLugan - UC Merced
  • Alejandra Dubcovsky - UC Riverside
  • Keolu Fox - UC San Diego (Non-Voting)
  • Buffy McQuillen - Round Valley Tribes (Federally Recognized)
  • Laura Miranda - Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians (Federally Recognized)
  • Patrick Naranjo - UC Berkeley
  • Brittani Orona - UC Santa Cruz
  • Shannon Speed - UCLA (Non-Voting)
  • Vacant - Federally Recognized Tribal Member
  • Vacant - UC Berkeley (Non-Voting)
  • Vacant - UC Davis (Non-Voting)
  • Vacant - UC Riverside (Non-Voting)
  • Vacant - UC Santa Barbara (Non-Voting)

UC Berkeley

  • Sabrina Agarwal - UC Berkeley
  • Phenocia Bauerle - UC Berkeley
  • Seth Davis - UC Berkeley
  • Vince Medina - Ohlone Indian Tribe (Non-Federally Recognized)
  • Dustin Murray - Shingle Springs Rancheria (Federally Recognized)
  • Creed Stedman - United Auburn Indian Community (Federally Recognized)

UC Davis

  • Christyann Darwent - UC Davis
  • Leland Kinter - Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation (Federally Recognized)
  • Tracy Foster-Olstad - Nor Rel Muk Wintu (Non-Federally Recognized)
  • Michelle LaPena - Pit River Tribe (Federally Recognized)
  • Vacant - UC Member
  • Vacant - UC Member


  • Kathleen Marshall - Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians (Federally Recognized)
  • Charmaine McDarment - Tule River Tribe (Federally Recognized)
  • Kimberly Morales-Johnson - Gabrieleno/Tongva San Gabriel Band of Mission Indians (Non-Federally Recognized)
  • Heather Ponchetti Daly - UC San Diego
  • Justin Richland - UC Irvine
  • Angela Riley - UCLA

UC Riverside

  • Gerald Clarke - UC Riverside
  • William Clarke-Kidder - UC Riverside
  • Douglas Kennett - UC Santa Barbara
  • Myra Masiel - Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians (Federally Recognized)
  • Cami Mojado - San Luis Rey Band of Mission Indians (Non-Federally Recognized)
  • Eva Trujillo - Mesa Grande Band of Diegueno Mission Indians (Federally Recognized)

UC San Diego

  • Paul Cuero, Jr. - Campo Kumeyaay Nation (Federally Recognized)
  • Ross Frank - UC San Diego
  • Elena Hood - UC San Diego
  • Makayla Murillo - San Luis Rey Band of Mission Indians (Non-Federally Recognized)
  • Isabel Rivera-Collazo - UC San Diego
  • Stanley Rodriguez - Santa Ysabel Band of the Iipay Nation (Federally Recognized)

UC Santa Barbara

  • Jon Daehnke - UC Santa Cruz
  • Vincent Gomez - Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians (Federally Recognized)
  • M. Cristina Gonzales - Coastal Band of the Chumash Nation (Non-Federally Recognized)
  • Gregory Johnson - UC Santa Barbara
  • Stuart Tyson Smith - UC Santa Barbara
  • Nakia Zavalla - Santa Ynez Band of Chumash Indians (Federally Recognized)