The University of California is involved in managing three U.S. Department of Energy national laboratories. The Lawrence Berkeley laboratory was founded on the UC Berkeley campus in 1931 as an interdisciplinary research center. Some years later, the Livermore and Los Alamos laboratories were established to serve U.S. defense needs; they continue today in new aspects of that mission, including response to terrorism and homeland defense.

With a combined workforce of more than 20,000, the three laboratories have become unparalleled research and development centers whose programs and activities address national interests and concerns in areas such as energy, environment and health. The laboratories also contribute to the nation's economic competitiveness through partnerships with industry, and all are leaders in math and science education, helping to enlighten, educate and train students and teachers at all levels.

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL)


LBNL’s mission is to create advanced new tools for scientific discovery and to work on problems of great scale, enabling transformational solutions for energy, health, and environment.

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL)


LLNS has a mission of strengthening the United States’ security through development and application of world-class science and technology to: enhance the nation’s defense; reduce the global threat from terrorism and weapons of mass destruction; and respond with vision, quality, integrity and technical excellence to scientific issues of national importance.

Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL)


LANL's mission is to develop and apply science and technology to ensure the safety, security, and reliability of the U.S. nuclear deterrent; reduce global threats; and solve other emerging national security and energy challenges.