

Michael V. Drake, MD President April 26, 2024

Office of the President 1111 Franklin St. Oakland, CA 94607

The Honorable Scott D. Wiener Chair, Joint Legislative Budget Committee 1020 N Street, Room 553 Sacramento, California 95814

university of california. edu

CAMPUSES

Berkeley
Davis
Irvine
UCLA
Merced
Riverside
San Diego
San Francisco

MEDICAL CENTERS

Santa Barbara Santa Cruz

Davis Irvine UCLA San Diego San Francisco

NATIONAL LABORATORIES
Lawrence Berkeley
Lawrence Livermore
Los Alamos

DIVISION OF AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES

Dear Senator Wiener:

Section 66018.5 of the Education Code requires the University of California to report to the Legislature on any manner of preferential treatment in admission to applicants on the basis of their relationships to donors or alumni of the institution. The University of California's policies prohibit preferential treatment in admission on the basis of an applicant's relationship to donors or to University alumni. Any action by an employee to admit a student improperly would be contrary to our policies and expectations of ethical behavior. If an action to this effect is alleged, an investigation will take place. Should that investigation substantiate an improper admission, the University will share the results of that investigation with the Legislature.

If you have any questions, Interim Associate Vice President and Director Caín Díaz would be pleased to speak with you. Caín can be reached by telephone at (510) 987-9350, or by e-mail at Cain.Diaz@ucop.edu.

Sincerely,

Michael V. Drake, MD

President

cc: Senate Budget and Fiscal Review

The Honorable John Laird, Chair

Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Subcommittee #1

(Attn: Mr. Christopher Francis)

(Attn: Mr. Kirk Feely)

The Honorable David A. Alvarez, Chair

Assembly Education Finance Subcommittee #3

(Attn: Mr. Mark Martin) (Attn: Ms. Sarah Haynes)

Mr. Hans Hemann, Joint Legislative Budget Committee

Mr. Chris Ferguson, Department of Finance Ms. Gabriela Chavez, Department of Finance Page 2

Mr. Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst Office
Ms. Jennifer Pacella, Legislative Analyst Office
Mr. Ian Klein, Legislative Analyst Office
Provost and Executive Vice President Katherine S. Newman
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Nathan Brostrom
Vice President and Vice Provost Yvette Gullatt
Interim Associate Vice Provost Cynthia Davalos
Interim Senior Vice President Michael Reese
Interim Associate Vice President and Director Caín Díaz
Associate Vice President and Director Kathleen Fullerton