Global Climate Leadership Council

The Global Climate Leadership Council was formed in 2014 to advise UC on achieving the ambitious goal of achieving carbon neutrality by 2025 (pdf) while also providing guidance for furthering its other longstanding sustainability goals. The council will also provide guidance on integrating the carbon neutrality initiative and other sustainability goals into UC’s teaching, research and public service mission.

The council is comprised of scientists, administrators, students and experts from inside and outside UC and will engage the entire university community in its effort to seek out the best practices, policies and technology to achieve carbon neutrality and to advance teaching and research in climate change and sustainability.

The council is organized around key areas of contribution toward the initiative’s success:

Council members

The council is co-chaired by:

  • Nathan Brostrom, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer (UCOP)
  • Fonna Forman, Associate Professor of Political Science & Director, UCSD Center on Global Justice (UCSD)

Council members include UC officials and students:

  • Ken Alex, Director, Project Climate (UCB)
  • Roger Bales, Professor of Engineering (UCM)
  • Matt Barth, Professor of Engineering; Director, Center for Environmental Research and Technology (UCR)
  • Carl Blumstein, Director, California Institute for Energy & Environment (UCB)
  • Wendell Brase, Associate Chancellor for Sustainability (UCI)
  • Carrie L. Byington, MD, Executive Vice President, University of California Health (UCOP)
  • Susan Cochran, Academic Senate Vice Chair (UCLA)
  • Matt Deines, Senior Planner, Campus Physical and Environmental Planning (UCI)
  • John Elliott, Chief Sustainability Officer (LBNL)
  • Cecilia Estolano, Chair, UC Board of Regents
  • Marc Fisher, Vice Chancellor, Administration (UCB)
  • Gregg Goldman, Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer (UCLA)
  • Robert Horwitz, Academic Senate Chair (UCSD)
  • Glenda Humiston, Vice President for Agriculture and Natural Resources (UCOP)
  • Caroline Hung, Graduate Student Representative (UCR)
  • Kenneth Janda, Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemistry (UCI)
  • Pramod Khargonekar, Vice Chancellor of Research (UCI)
  • Cathy Koshland, Interim Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost (UCB)
  • David Lea, Professor, Department of Earth Science (UCSB)
  • Theresa Maldonado, Vice President, Research and Innovation (UCOP)
  • Beth Rose Middleton, Professor and Department Chair, Native American Studies (UCD)
  • Rachael Nava, Executive Vice President-Chief Operating Officer (UCOP)
  • Charles Nies, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs (UCM)
  • Tracey Osborne, Associate Professor, School of Engineering (UCM)
  • Jane Page, Professor of Directing, Drama Department (UCI)
  • David Phillips, Associate Vice President, Energy & Sustainability (UCOP)
  • Kelly Perymon, Undergraduate Student Representative (UCI)
  • Clare Shinnerl, Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, Campus Life Services (UCSF)
  • Brad Simmons, Interim CEO and COO, UC Davis Health (UCD)
  • Sheri Weiser, Professor of Medicine; Internist in Division of HIV, Infectious Diseases and Global Medicine (UCSF)
External Advisors:
  • Yana Garcia, Deputy Secretary for Environmental Justice, Tribal Affairs and Border Relations, CalEPA
  • H. Ramé Hemstreet, Vice President, Operations, Kaiser Permanente
  • Debbie Raphael, Director, Department of Environment, City of San Francisco
  • Elvyra F. San Juan, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Capital Planning, Design & Construction, CSU Chancellor’s Office