Global Climate Leadership Council

The Global Climate Leadership Council was formed in 2014 to advise UC on achieving the ambitious goal of achieving carbon neutrality by 2025 (pdf) while also providing guidance for furthering its other longstanding sustainability goals. The council will also provide guidance on integrating the carbon neutrality initiative and other sustainability goals into UC’s teaching, research and public service mission.

The council is comprised of scientists, administrators, students and experts from inside and outside UC and will engage the entire university community in its effort to seek out the best practices, policies and technology to achieve carbon neutrality and to advance teaching and research in climate change and sustainability.

The council is organized around key areas of contribution toward the initiative’s success:

Council members

The council is co-chaired by Rachael Nava (Chief Operating Officer, UCOP), and Wendell Brase, UC Irvine’s Vice Chancellor for Administration. Honorary Chair is Art Rosenfelt, Professor Emeritus. Council members include UC officials, students and outside experts:

David Auston, Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering (UCSB)

Roger Bales, Professor of Engineering (UCM)

Matt Barth, Professor of Engineering (UCR)

Carl Blumstein, Director, California Institute for Energy and Environment (UCB)

Sandra Brown, Vice Chancellor for Research (UCSD)

Ann Carlson, Vice Dean and Professor, School of Law (UCLA)

Peggy Delaney, Vice Chancellor for Planning and Budget (UCSC)

John Elliott, Chief Sustainability Officer (LBNL)

Bill Frost, Associate Vice President (ANR)

Julie Henderson, Chief of Staff and Senior Policy Advisor (UCOP)

Daniel Kammen, Professor in the Energy and Resources Group (UCB)

Terri O’Brien, Associate Chancellor, Ass’t Professor, Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology (UCSF)

Thomas Parham, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs (UCI)

Nelson Peacock, Senior Advisor to UC President (UCOP)

Kimberly Perry, President, Butte College

Tom Peterson, EVC-Provost (UCM)

Jack Powazek, Vice Chancellor for Administration (UCLA)

Bonnie Reiss, UC Regent

Rollin Richmond, President Emeritus, Humboldt State University

Michael Siminovitch, Professor/Director of the California Lighting Technology (UCD)

Nancy Skinner, Senior Policy Fellow, UCD Center for Energy Efficiency (UCD)

Steven Sterman, Portfolio Manager, Office of the Chief Investment Officer (UCOP)

Kira Stoll, Co-Chair, UC Climate Change Working Group (UCB)

Paul Watkins, Chief Administrative Officer, (UCLA Medical Center)

External Advisors:   

Bob Fisher, former CEO, Gap Inc.; co-founder and trustee, Pisces Foundation

Lisa Jackson, EPA Administrator, 2009-2013

Ren Orans, Managing Partner, E3

Derek Walker, Associate VP, Climate and Energy Program, Environmental Defense Fund