Faculty Engagement and Education

The purpose of the Faculty Engagement and Education Working Group of the UC Global Climate Leadership Council is to develop broad faculty support and participation in UC’s 2025 carbon neutrality goal and to advance UC leadership in climate change and sustainability education. The group's goal is to make sustainability and climate neutrality part of the curricular and/or other educational experience of all UC students by 2020.

Faculty Engagement Awards

Faculty Climate Action Champion Award
One yearlong climate-action award will be given to one faculty member on each campus for the fall 2015 to fall 2016 academic year. The award will promote faculty leadership in scholarship, teaching and community engagement about climate-action solutions. Each campus will select a faculty climate-action champion after soliciting proposals from faculty of all disciplines for activities that engage students and the community while providing campus-wide leadership in carbon neutrality and sustainability issues. Faculty champions will receive a $25,000 award to fund their proposals.

Faculty Curriculum Workshops and Networking Events
A series of campus workshops will be designed to incentivize, support and connect faculty across campuses who voluntarily choose to infuse existing course curriculum across various disciplines with relevant climate and sustainability concepts. Each campus will identify two co-leaders for the workshop and networking events. The co-leaders will attend a systemwide training session in fall 2015 and lead a subsequent workshop at their home campus for their colleagues during the 2015-16 academic year. The program also includes a follow-up networking event in 2016-17 that is open to all faculty and showcases the revised courses. Enriching existing courses in this way is very cost-effective and enhances the educational experience of many students, especially those for whom sustainability and climate may not be a major focus. Participating faculty will receive up to $1,200 to incorporate sustainability and climate into existing curriculum.

UC President Janet Napolitano announced these faculty engagement awards on May 8, 2015.

Climate Education Gateway

With a goal to increase climate and sustainability literacy systemwide, an online portal will be developed to enable UC faculty to share educational resources across campuses and disciplines. The UC Irvine Center for Research on Sustainability, Collapse-Preparedness and Information Technology (RISCIT) is leading the development of the Gateway. RISCIT welcomes collaboration from peers across the UC system.

Get involved

To get involved, please follow the campus links below (more links will be added as available):

  • UC Berkeley
  • UC Davis
  • UC Irvine
  • UCLA
  • UC Merced
  • UC Riverside
  • UC San Diego
  • UC San Francisco
  • UC Santa Barbara
  • UC Santa Cruz

Faculty Engagement and Education Working Group

The Faculty Engagement and Education Working Group is co-chaired by Tom Peterson, provost at UC Merced; and Abby Reyes, director of the UC Irvine Sustainability Initiative. Working Group members are the campus point of contact for the projects described above. The 2014-15 members of the group are:

  • Tom Peterson, working group co-chair, provost and executive vice chancellor, UC Merced
  • Abby Reyes, working group co-chair, director of UC Irvine Sustainability Initiative, UC Irvine
  • Todd Dawson, integrative biology professor, UC Berkeley, UC Natural Reserve System and member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
  • Mary Droser, geology professor and paleobiology program director, UC Riverside
  • John Foran, sociology professor, UC Santa Barbara
  • Teamrat A. Ghezzehei, School of Natural Sciences professor, UC Merced
  • J. Keith Gilless, College of Natural Resources dean and professor of forest economics, UC Berkeley
  • Travis Huxman, ecology and evolutionary biology professor, director of Center for Environmental Biology, chair of executive committee of UCI Sustainability Initiative and co-chair of Faculty Task Force on Sustainability Education; UC Irvine
  • Ronnie Lipschutz politics and environmental studies professor, UC Santa Cruz
  • Claudia Martinez, staff lead and deputy director for diversity and engagement, UC Office of the President
  • Cully Nordby, academic director for the Institute of Environment and Sustainability, UCLA
  • Robert (Skip) Pomeroy, chemistry and biochemistry professor, UC San Diego
  • Stephen Wheeler, Ph.D., Professor, Landscape Architecture Program, Department of Human Ecology, UC Davis
  • Matthew St. Clair, director of sustainability, UC Office of the President
  • Arianne Teherani, School of Medicine professor, UC San Francisco
  • Steven Worker, coordinator for 4-H Science, Engineering and Technology Education; UC Division of Agricultural and Natural Resources